The Pro Football Hall of Fame’s list of nominees for induction in 2017 has officially been trimmed from 94 to 15. In November, the list was cut to 26 candidates and, on Tuesday night, the 15 finalists for the class of 2017 HOF were announced on NFL Network. The list of finalists is as follows:

1. LaDainian Tomlinson (running back for the Chargers and Jets)
2. Brian Dawkins (safety for the Eagles and Broncos)
3. Jason Taylor (defensive end for the Dolphins, Jets, and Redskins)
4. Morten Andersen (kicker for the Saints, Falcons, Chiefs, Vikings, and Giants)
5. Kurt Warner (quarterback for the Rams, Cardinals, and Giants)
6. Don Coryell (coach of the St. Louis Cardinals and Chargers)
7. Tony Boselli (tackle for the Jaguars)
8. Isaac Bruce (receiver for the Rams and 49ers)
9. Terrell Davis (running back for the Broncos)
10. Alan Faneca (guard for the Steelers, Jets, and Cardinals)
11. Joe Jacoby (tackle for the Redskins)
12. Ty Law (cornerback for the Patriots, Jets, Chiefs, and Broncos)
13. John Lynch (safety for the Buccaneers and Broncos)
14. Kevin Mawae (center and guard for the Seahawks, Jets, and Titans)
15. Terrell Owens (receiver for the 49ers, Eagles, Cowboys, Bills, and Bengals)

These 15 candidates will be considered for induction along with three other finalists who have already been named. Those three are former Seahawks safety Kenny Easley, who was selected as the Seniors Committee finalist in August, and Cowboys owner Jerry Jones and former NFL commissioner Paul Tagliabue — both of whom were named contributor finalists.

Among those missing the cut from 26 to 15 this year: wide receiver Hines Ward, running back Roger Craig, wide receiver Torry Holt, coach Jimmy Johnson, linebacker Clay Matthews, safety Steve Atwater, running back Edgerrin James, offensive tackle Chris Hinton, offensive tackle Mike Kenn, safety Darren Woodson and linebacker Karl Mecklenburg.

The list of 15 features three big-name newcomers who were eligible for the first time — running back LaDainian Tomlinson, safety Brian Dawkins and defensive end Jason Taylor. Tomlinson, arguably the best running back of his time, is considered a favorite for induction, while Dawkins and Taylor might have to wait a year or two before their turn comes.

As for those who return to the finalist list after missing out last year, Owens should make the HOF in his second attempt. He’s second all-time in receiving yards, third in receiving touchdowns and eighth all-time in receptions. One of the most dominant pass-catchers of all-time, Owens’ failure last year was most likely his penance for his polarizing presence during his career, and his penchant for on-field and locker room shenanigans.

Davis and Warner are the other leading candidates among returning nominees. Davis, who is 55th all time in rushing (just behind Chris Warren), played only parts of seven seasons and a mere 17 games in his final three seasons combined. But Davis’ 97.5 rush yards per game rank third in NFL annals, and his postseason average of 142.5 in eight playoff games show how pivotal he was during the Denver Broncos two Super Bowl runs, including his famous migraine game in which he was named Super Bowl MVP in the upset over the Green Bay Packers.

Warner didn’t break out until age 27 in his brilliant MVP season in 1999, leading the St. Louis Rams to their only Super Bowl victory. Over the following two seasons, Warner was mostly great again and he got the Rams back in the Super Bowl a second time. He’d return for a third appearance with the Arizona Cardinals in their only time making it, and though Warner owns the three highest passing-yard totals in Super Bowl history, his teams were only 1-2.

Related Posts:




You can be the first one to leave a comment.

Leave a Comment